A History of St Andrew’s

St Andrew’s
United Reformed Church, Scarborough
1864 – present day

The church was originally constructed for the Rev Robert Balgarnie, who took up his post in April 1868. It is now part of the United Reformed Church.
https://urc.org.uk/

Funded by Sir Titus Salt, of Saltaire, and other local investors, the church was built between 1864 and 1868, to a design by Henry Francis Lockwood and William Mawson. The 13th-century Gothic revival style building became Grade II listed in 1973, and was upgraded to Grade II* in 1993.

Sometimes termed the ‘non-conformist cathedral’, the magnificent building boasts a 175 ft high spire, which towers above the South Cliff area of Scarborough. Built in Early English Gothic style, St Andrew’s contains some beautiful examples of William Wailes’ stained glass windows. It is also home to heritage chapel with a large archive, a detailed model of medieval Scarborough. The church is situated on a large plot of land, which is accessible at all times. There is a bench in the garden for visitors to sit and admire the building, and the church interior is open at various times during the week.

We have a Heritage Chapel on the East side of the church, which houses ‘The Scarborough Model’, a large hand-crafted model of Medieval Scarborough. There is also a wealth of information about the history of St Andrew’s Church, filed and displayed within the Heritage Chapel, compiled by our late Church Historian, Tricia McNaughton.